Norza is new RMPA president

Tan Sri Mohamad Norza Zakaria (File pix)
27/07/2021 06:06 PM

KUALA LUMPUR, July 27 -- Tan Sri Mohamad Norza Zakaria has been appointed as the new Royal Malaysian Polo Association (RMPA) president, replacing Datuk Mohamed Moiz.

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah is the patron of the RMPA.

In yesterday’s annual general meeting (AGM), which was held virtually, all those who contested won unopposed.

Norza, according to a statement by RMPA, said that the new committee under his leadership would focus on organising more local polo competitions so as to encourage wider participation and, thus, contribute to the increase in employment and career opportunities in the country’s polo industry.  

Norza is also the president of the Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) and president of the Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM).

The statement also said that Datuk Syed Budriz Putra Jamalullail Syed Amir Abidin Jamalullail and Datuk Seri Tengku Uzir Tengku Ubaidillah were appointed vice-presidents at the AGM.

Meanwhile, others appointed were Datuk Quzier Ambak Mahamad Fathil as honorary secretary; Datuk Mohamad Zekri Ibrahim (honorary treasurer); Lt. Col (B) Ahmad Fakharuzi Ibrahim (executive secretary and RMPA league coordinator); and Datuk Seri Razak Feroz Khan, Datuk Khamarulazlan Mohamad Hanafiah and Toh Muda Rizal Ashram Ramli (committee members). 

For the record, the Malaysian polo team have a proud record in the Southeast Asian region, having won the SEA Games gold medal in four editions - 1983 in Singapore, 2007 (Korat), 2017 (Kuala Lumpur) and 2019 (the Philippines).